HDFC Life Insurance
Market cap ₹1.15 L Cr
- P/E
- 57.86
- Day range
- ₹518.20 – ₹531.50
- 52-week range
- ₹508.70 – ₹796.90
- Volume
- 41.28 L
- Open
- ₹522.00
- Prev close
- ₹526.15
Price history
Price & delivery on the exchange
NSE bhavcopy to 11 Sept 2026 · delivery 62.1% today vs 56.7% average · BSE close ₹530
- Delivery
- NSE close
- BSE close
High delivery with a rising price suggests buyers holding rather than trading the move.
Futures & options
NSE F&O close, 11 Sept 2026 · options expiring 29 Sept 2026
- Near-month future
- ₹530.7
- Change
- +0.43%
- Basis over spot
- +₹0.70
- Futures OI (shares)
- 5.20 Cr
- OI change
- -1.78%
- Put-call ratio
- 0.60
- Max pain
- ₹530
- Resistance (call OI)
- ₹550
- Support (put OI)
- ₹500
- Lot size
- 1,100
Open interest by strike
Calls open above (resistance) and puts below (support), in shares
- Call OI
- Put OI
Futures open interest and price
Near-month future, day by day since collection began
The daily history builds from each close.
Key metrics
- P/E (TTM)
- 57.3
- EPS (TTM)
- ₹9.16
- ROE (FY26)
- 11.3%
- ROCE (latest year)
- 10%
- Dividend yield
- 0.40%
Charts & trends
From company filings. Amounts in ₹ crore.
Revenue, profit & margin - quarterly
Bars in ₹ crore (a loss shows red); line is operating margin
- Revenue
- Net profit
- Operating margin
Who owns the company
Shareholding as of Jun 2026
- Promoter
- DII
- FII
- Public
- Others
Cash flows
Where cash came from and went, by fiscal year (₹ crore)
- Operating
- Investing
- Financing
- Free cash flow
Return on equity
Net profit over shareholders' equity, by fiscal year
Equity vs debt
Shareholders' equity against borrowings (₹ crore); line is debt-to-equity
- Equity
- Debt
- Debt / equity
Financial statements
| Line item | Sep 2023 | Dec 2023 | Mar 2024 | Jun 2024 | Sep 2024 | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales | 23,142 | 26,927 | 28,041 | 26,934 | 28,497 | 17,300 | 24,191 | 29,463 | 20,651 | 29,428 | 19,890 | 33,759 |
| Expenses | 23,557 | 26,663 | 27,766 | 26,623 | 28,807 | 16,852 | 23,814 | 29,024 | 20,336 | 29,157 | 19,782 | 33,253 |
| Operating Profit | -415 | 264 | 275 | 311 | -310 | 448 | 377 | 439 | 315 | 271 | 108 | 506 |
| OPM % | -1.8% | 1% | 1% | 1.2% | -1.1% | 2.6% | 1.6% | 1.5% | 1.5% | 0.9% | 0.6% | 1.5% |
| Other Income | 136 | 103 | 174 | 90 | 279 | -29 | 124 | 164 | 157 | 174 | 428 | 171 |
| Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Depreciation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Profit before tax | -279 | 367 | 450 | 401 | -30 | 419 | 500 | 604 | 471 | 445 | 537 | 677 |
| Tax % | -235% | 0% | 8% | -20% | -1541% | -1% | 5% | 9% | 5% | 6% | 7% | 10% |
| Net Profit | 378 | 368 | 412 | 479 | 435 | 421 | 475 | 548 | 448 | 418 | 497 | 611 |
| EPS in Rs | ₹1.76 | ₹1.71 | ₹1.91 | ₹2.23 | ₹2.02 | ₹1.96 | ₹2.21 | ₹2.54 | ₹2.08 | ₹1.94 | ₹2.31 | ₹2.81 |
From company filings, updated 11 Sept 2026. Consolidated figures where the company reports them.Information only, not investment advice.
Strengths, risks & growth
HDFC Life Insurance Company is engaged in carrying on the business of life insurance. The Company offers a range of individual and group insurance solutions. The portfolio comprises of various insurance and investment products such as Protection, Pension, Savings,(Source : 202003 Annual Report Page No: 175)
Strengths
- Company has been maintaining a healthy dividend payout of 25.3%
Risks
- Stock is trading at 5.89 times its book value
- The company has delivered a poor sales growth of 6.81% over past five years.
- Tax rate seems low
- Company has a low return on equity of 11.1% over last 3 years.
- Earnings include an other income of Rs.931 Cr.
Compounded Sales Growth
- 10 Years
- +19%
- 5 Years
- +7%
- 3 Years
- +12%
- TTM
- +4%
Compounded Profit Growth
- 10 Years
- +9%
- 5 Years
- +7%
- 3 Years
- +12%
- TTM
- +5%
Stock Price CAGR
- 10 Years
- —
- 5 Years
- -6%
- 3 Years
- -7%
- 1 Year
- -32%
Return on Equity
- 10 Years
- +14%
- 5 Years
- +11%
- 3 Years
- +11%
- Last Year
- +11%
Strengths and risks are a machine-generated checklist, not advice; growth is compounded annually over each period.
Shareholding pattern
| Holder | Sept 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoter | 50.25% | 50.21% | 50.21% | 50.54% | +0.33 pp |
| FII | 24.82% | 24.27% | 22.52% | 19.27% | -3.25 pp |
| DII | 14.59% | 15.23% | 17.25% | 20.19% | +2.94 pp |
| Public | 10.32% | 10.25% | 10.00% | 9.98% | -0.02 pp |
| Others | 0.03% | 0.03% | 0.03% | 0.02% | -0.01 pp |
Filed with NSE for Jun 2026: promoters 50.54%, public 49.44% · XBRL filing
Analysts & fund holdings
Who holds the shares, quarter by quarter
Mutual funds 16.57% (+2.03 pp)- Promoters50.5%
- Foreign institutions19.3%
- Mutual funds16.6%
- Insurance2.2%
- Other domestic institutions1.4%
- Retail3.6%
- Others6.4%
| Fund | % of company | % of fund | 3-month change |
|---|---|---|---|
| SBI Large Cap Fund | 1.31% | 2.86% | -0.17 pp |
| ICICI Pru Value Fund | 0.98% | 1.97% | -0.11 pp |
| ICICI Pru India Opp Fund | 0.78% | 2.45% | -0.01 pp |
| ICICI Pru Large Cap Fund | 0.71% | 1.07% | -0.07 pp |
| SBI Large & Midcap Fund | 0.62% | 1.75% | -0.17 pp |
Scorecard
- Performance
- Low
- Valuation
- High
- Growth
- Low
- Profitability
- High
- Entry point
- Good
- Red flags
- Low
Analyst coverage, holdings and scorecard from market data; not a recommendation by Parasram India.
Corporate actions
- dividend₹2.10
Dividend - Rs 2.10 Per Share
19 Jun 2026ex-date - dividend₹2.10
Dividend - Rs 2.10 Per Share
20 Jun 2025ex-date - dividend₹2.00
Dividend - Rs 2 Per Share
21 Jun 2024ex-date - dividend₹1.90
Dividend - Rs 1.90 Per Share
16 Jun 2023ex-date - dividend₹1.70
Dividend - Rs 1.70 Per Share
31 May 2022ex-date - dividend₹2.02
Dividend - Rs 2.02 Per Sh
30 Jun 2021ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
11 Jul 2019ex-date - dividend₹1.63
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.63 Per Share
14 Mar 2019ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
12 Jul 2018ex-date - dividend₹1.36
Interim Dividend - Rs 1.36 Per Share (Purpose Revised)
15 Dec 2017ex-date
Company announcements
Please refer the attached file for further details.
Allotment of 1,14,000 equity shares under ESOP Schemes.
Please refer the attached file for further details.
Please refer the attached file for further details
Filed with BSE (scrip 540777); the last 45 days. Documents open at bseindia.com.
Documents
Annual reports
Earnings calls
- Jul 2026TranscriptRecording
- Apr 2026TranscriptSlidesRecording
- Jan 2026TranscriptSlidesRecording
- Oct 2025TranscriptSlides
- Jul 2025TranscriptSlides
- Apr 2025TranscriptSlidesRecording
Credit ratings
- Rating update · 31 Aug from icra
- Rating update · 27 Jan from crisil
- Rating update · 28 Nov 2025 from care
- Rating update · 26 Nov 2025 from icra
- Rating update · 8 Sep 2025 from care
- Rating update · 29 Aug 2025 from icra
Documents open at BSE or the rating agency that issued them.