Ashok Leyland
Market cap ₹96,184 Cr
- P/E
- 27.71
- Day range
- ₹160.00 – ₹165.04
- 52-week range
- ₹132.77 – ₹215.42
- Volume
- 1.90 Cr
- Open
- ₹163.80
- Prev close
- ₹166.12
Price history
Price & delivery on the exchange
NSE bhavcopy to 11 Sept 2026 · delivery 48.7% today vs 47.1% average · BSE close ₹163.95
- Delivery
- NSE close
- BSE close
High delivery with a rising price suggests buyers holding rather than trading the move.
Futures & options
NSE F&O close, 11 Sept 2026 · options expiring 29 Sept 2026
- Near-month future
- ₹164.84
- Change
- -0.66%
- Basis over spot
- +₹1.08
- Futures OI (shares)
- 13.02 Cr
- OI change
- -0.55%
- Put-call ratio
- 0.61
- Max pain
- ₹172.5
- Resistance (call OI)
- ₹180
- Support (put OI)
- ₹170
- Lot size
- 5,000
Open interest by strike
Calls open above (resistance) and puts below (support), in shares
- Call OI
- Put OI
Futures open interest and price
Near-month future, day by day since collection began
The daily history builds from each close.
Key metrics
- P/E (TTM)
- 26.6
- EPS (TTM)
- ₹5.92
- Price / Book
- 6.89
- ROE (FY26)
- 28.1%
- ROCE (latest year)
- 14%
- Dividend yield
- 2.10%
- Net margin (TTM)
- 6.5%
- Current ratio
- 1.32
- Debt / Equity
- 3.25
- Revenue growth (5y)
- 23.7%
Moving averages (NSE)
| 5-day | 10-day | 20-day | 50-day | 100-day | 300-day |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ₹169.16Price below | ₹172.83Price below | ₹173.72Price below | ₹166.28Price below | ₹162.45Price above | ₹170.8Price below |
Charts & trends
From company filings. Amounts in ₹ crore.
Revenue, profit & margin - quarterly
Bars in ₹ crore (a loss shows red); line is operating margin
- Revenue
- Net profit
- Operating margin
Who owns the company
Shareholding as of Jun 2026
- Promoter
- FII
- DII
- Public
- Government
Cash flows
Where cash came from and went, by fiscal year (₹ crore)
- Operating
- Investing
- Financing
- Free cash flow
Return on equity
Net profit over shareholders' equity, by fiscal year
Equity vs debt
Shareholders' equity against borrowings (₹ crore); line is debt-to-equity
- Equity
- Debt
- Debt / equity
Financial statements
| Line item | Sep 2023 | Dec 2023 | Mar 2024 | Jun 2024 | Sep 2024 | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales | 11,429 | 11,093 | 13,542 | 10,724 | 11,148 | 11,995 | 14,696 | 11,709 | 12,577 | 14,830 | 17,246 | 13,070 |
| Expenses | 9,559 | 9,131 | 10,975 | 8,856 | 9,108 | 9,659 | 11,705 | 9,535 | 10,136 | 12,008 | 13,938 | 10,660 |
| Operating Profit | 1,870 | 1,961 | 2,567 | 1,868 | 2,040 | 2,336 | 2,991 | 2,173 | 2,441 | 2,822 | 3,308 | 2,410 |
| OPM % | 16% | 18% | 19% | 17% | 18% | 19% | 20% | 19% | 19% | 19% | 19% | 18% |
| Other Income | -1 | 46 | 10 | 36 | 245 | 75 | 22 | 103 | 103 | -140 | 186 | 195 |
| Interest | 715 | 783 | 829 | 904 | 962 | 1,011 | 1,053 | 1,112 | 1,152 | 1,200 | 1,241 | 1,341 |
| Depreciation | 227 | 241 | 233 | 235 | 244 | 268 | 340 | 273 | 268 | 282 | 314 | 315 |
| Profit before tax | 927 | 984 | 1,516 | 765 | 1,078 | 1,132 | 1,621 | 891 | 1,124 | 1,200 | 1,940 | 950 |
| Tax % | 39% | 38% | 38% | 28% | 29% | 28% | 23% | 26% | 27% | 28% | 29% | 30% |
| Net Profit | 569 | 609 | 934 | 551 | 767 | 820 | 1,246 | 658 | 820 | 862 | 1,381 | 668 |
| EPS in Rs | ₹0.90 | ₹0.95 | ₹1.45 | ₹0.87 | ₹1.20 | ₹1.30 | ₹1.92 | ₹1.04 | ₹1.29 | ₹1.38 | ₹2.20 | ₹1.05 |
From company filings, updated 11 Sept 2026. Consolidated figures where the company reports them.Information only, not investment advice.
Strengths, risks & growth
Ashok Leyland is the flagship Company of the Hinduja group, having a long-standing presence in the domestic medium and heavy commercial vehicle (M&HCV) segment. The company has a strong brand and well-diversified distribution and service network across the country and has a presence in 50 countries, it is one of the most fully-integrated manufacturing companies. Its headquarter is in Chennai [1] They manage driver training institutes across India and have trained over 8,00,000 drivers since inception. [1]
Strengths
- Company has delivered good profit growth of 84.1% CAGR over last 5 years
- Company has a good return on equity (ROE) track record: 3 Years ROE 28.0%
- Company has been maintaining a healthy dividend payout of 58.9%
Risks
- Stock is trading at 6.76 times its book value
- Promoters have pledged 40.1% of their holding.
Compounded Sales Growth
- 10 Years
- +9%
- 5 Years
- +20%
- 3 Years
- +5%
- TTM
- +17%
Compounded Profit Growth
- 10 Years
- +15%
- 5 Years
- +84%
- 3 Years
- +45%
- TTM
- +17%
Stock Price CAGR
- 10 Years
- +15%
- 5 Years
- +21%
- 3 Years
- +22%
- 1 Year
- +23%
Return on Equity
- 10 Years
- +19%
- 5 Years
- +22%
- 3 Years
- +28%
- Last Year
- +27%
Strengths and risks are a machine-generated checklist, not advice; growth is compounded annually over each period.
Shareholding pattern
| Holder | Sept 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoter | 51.51% | 51.51% | 51.51% | 51.51% | 0.00 pp |
| FII | 24.32% | 24.41% | 24.57% | 20.67% | -3.90 pp |
| DII | 13.59% | 13.73% | 13.06% | 15.75% | +2.69 pp |
| Government | 0.07% | 0.07% | 0.07% | 0.07% | 0.00 pp |
| Public | 10.51% | 10.30% | 10.79% | 11.99% | +1.20 pp |
Filed with NSE for Jun 2026: promoters 51.51%, public 48.49% · XBRL filing
Analysts & fund holdings
Who holds the shares, quarter by quarter
Mutual funds 9.66% (+1.80 pp)- Promoters51.1%
- Foreign institutions20.5%
- Mutual funds9.7%
- Insurance4.5%
- Other domestic institutions1.5%
- Retail9.9%
- Others2.8%
| Fund | % of company | % of fund | 3-month change |
|---|---|---|---|
| SBI Large & Midcap Fund | 0.97% | 2.32% | +0.16 pp |
| Kotak Large & Mid Cap Fund | 0.69% | 2.18% | -0.07 pp |
| Nippon India Growth Mid Cap Fund | 0.64% | 1.24% | -0.17 pp |
| ICICI Pru Focused Fund | 0.57% | 3.25% | +1.63 pp |
| HDFC Flexi Cap Fund | 0.51% | 0.46% | +0.02 pp |
Scorecard
- Performance
- Avg
- Valuation
- High
- Growth
- Avg
- Profitability
- High
- Entry point
- Good
- Red flags
- Avg
Analyst coverage, holdings and scorecard from market data; not a recommendation by Parasram India.
Corporate actions
- dividend₹2.50
Interim Dividend - Rs 2.50 Per Share
3 Jun 2026ex-date - dividendNot available — not reported in this filing
Interim Dividend - Re 1 Per Share
18 Nov 2025ex-date - bonusNot available — not reported in this filing
Bonus 1:1
16 Jul 2025ex-date - dividend₹4.25
Interim Dividend - Rs 4.25 Per Share
22 May 2025ex-date - dividend₹2.00
Interim Dividend - Rs 2 Per Share
19 Nov 2024ex-date - dividend₹4.95
Interim Dividend - Rs 4.95 Per Share
3 Apr 2024ex-date - dividend₹2.60
Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 2.60 Per Share
7 Jul 2023ex-date - dividend₹1.00
Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 1 Per Share
14 Jul 2022ex-date - dividend₹0.60
Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 0.60 Per Share
31 Aug 2021ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
28 Aug 2020ex-date - dividend₹0.50
Interim Dividend -Rs 0.50 Per Share
19 Mar 2020ex-date - dividend₹3.10
Annual General Meeting/ Dividend - Rs 3.10 Per Share
23 Jul 2019ex-date - dividend₹2.43
Dividend- Rs 2.43 Per Share
9 Jul 2018ex-date - dividend₹1.56
Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Rs 1.56/- Per Share
11 Jul 2017ex-date - dividendNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting/Dividend Re 0.95 Per Share
13 Jul 2016ex-date - dividendNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting/Dividend - Re 0.45 Per Share
17 Jun 2015ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
18 Jul 2014ex-date - dividendNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting / Dividend - Re.0.60/- Per Equity Share
4 Jul 2013ex-date - dividendNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting And Dividend Re.1/- Per Share
12 Jul 2012ex-date - bonusNot available — not reported in this filing
Bonus 1:1
2 Aug 2011ex-date
Insider trades
| Person | Type | Shares | Value | Disclosed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
HINDUJA AUTOMOTIVE LIMITED Promoters · Pledge Creation | Pledge | 6,00,00,000 | ₹767 Cr | 19 Jul 2021 |
HINDUJA AUTOMOTIVE LIMITED Promoters · Invocation of pledge | Pledge released | 2,35,00,000 | ₹288 Cr | 2 Jul 2021 |
HINDUJA AUTOMOTIVE LIMITED Promoters · Invocation of pledge | Pledge released | 2,42,00,000 | ₹271 Cr | 20 Apr 2021 |
Hinduja Automotive Limited Promoters · Pledge Creation | Pledge | 10,11,60,000 | ₹1176 Cr | 25 Mar 2021 |
HINDUJA AUTOMOTIVE LIMITED Promoters · Pledge Creation | Pledge | 10,11,60,000 | ₹1176 Cr | 25 Mar 2021 |
R Sivanesan Employees/Designated Employees · Market Sale | Sell | 5,000 | ₹4.9 L | 17 Dec 2020 |
Anuj Kathuria Employees/Designated Employees · Market Sale | Sell | 50,000 | ₹45.9 L | 11 Nov 2020 |
HINDUJA AUTOMOTIVE LIMITED Promoters · Pledge Creation | Pledge | 2,42,00,000 | ₹96.4 Cr | 10 Apr 2020 |
Gopal Mahadevan Director · Market Sale | Sell | 1,12,280 | ₹90.2 L | 27 Feb 2020 |
Gopal Mahadevan Director · Off Market | Sell | 1,12,280 | ₹0 | 5 Aug 2019 |
Gopal Mahadevan Key Managerial Personnel · Market Sale | Sell | 80,000 | ₹75.3 L | 15 Mar 2019 |
Vinod Kumar Dasari Key Managerial Personnel · Market Sale | Sell | 31,96,175 | ₹25.3 Cr | 20 Feb 2019 |
Disclosures filed with NSE under SEBI (Prohibition of Insider Trading) Regulations. Pledges and releases are not trades and are not counted above.
Bulk & block deals
| Date | Client | Type | Quantity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 Sept 2025 | — | Short sale | 40,000 | — |
| 12 Sept 2025 | — | Short sale | 2,10,000 | — |
Deals of more than 0.5% of shares (bulk), large single trades (block) and short sales, as NSE reports them.
Company announcements
Intimation of schedule of investor meeting
Monthly Business updates for the month of August 2026
Intimation of schedule of investor meeting
Earnings call transcript
Scrutiniser's Report
Summary of Proceedings of 77th AGM held on August 14, 2026
Updates on Acquisition
Updates on rotation of Statutory Auditors
Unaudited Financial Results for the quarter ended June 30, 2026
Intimation for the revised schedule of Earnings Conference Call
Allotment of 30000 Non-Convertible Debentures of Rs. 1,00,000/- per NCD
Earnings Conference Call
Ashok Leyland Ltdhas informed BSE that the meeting of the Board of Directors of the Company is scheduled on 14/08/2026 ,inter alia, to consider and approve the unaudited financial results ....
Stock exchange intimation of Hinduja Leyland Finance Limited, a material subsidiary of the company
Monthly sales volume for the month of July 2026
Filed with BSE (scrip 500477); the last 45 days. Documents open at bseindia.com.
Documents
Annual reports
Earnings calls
- Aug 2026Transcript
- Jun 2026TranscriptRecording
- Feb 2026TranscriptRecording
- Nov 2025Transcript
- Aug 2025Transcript
- May 2025Transcript
Credit ratings
- Rating update · 2 Jun from icra
- Rating update · 22 Sep 2025 from care
- Rating update · 12 Sep 2025 from icra
- Rating update · 26 Sep 2024 from care
- Rating update · 13 Sep 2024 from icra
- Rating update · 12 Oct 2023 from icra
Documents open at BSE or the rating agency that issued them.
Sourced from the company's NSE XBRL filing dated 12 Feb 2025 (unaudited). View the source filing. Figures are as filed and are not investment advice.