New India Assurance
Market cap ₹32,695 Cr
- P/E
- 44.28
- Day range
- ₹194.13 – ₹203.77
- 52-week range
- ₹116.97 – ₹242.60
- Volume
- 70.23 L
- Open
- ₹197.00
- Prev close
- ₹197.35
Price history
Price & delivery on the exchange
NSE bhavcopy to 11 Sept 2026 · delivery 15.0% today vs 28.6% average · BSE close ₹198.15
- Delivery
- NSE close
- BSE close
High delivery with a rising price suggests buyers holding rather than trading the move.
Key metrics
- P/E (TTM)
- 42.1
- EPS (TTM)
- ₹4.68
- ROE (FY26)
- 4.9%
- ROCE (latest year)
- 4%
- Dividend yield
- 0.76%
Charts & trends
From company filings. Amounts in ₹ crore.
Revenue, profit & margin - quarterly
Bars in ₹ crore (a loss shows red); line is operating margin
- Revenue
- Net profit
- Operating margin
Who owns the company
Shareholding as of Jun 2026
- Promoter
- DII
- Public
- FII
Cash flows
Where cash came from and went, by fiscal year (₹ crore)
- Operating
- Investing
- Financing
- Free cash flow
Return on equity
Net profit over shareholders' equity, by fiscal year
Equity vs debt
Shareholders' equity against borrowings (₹ crore); line is debt-to-equity
- Equity
- Debt
- Debt / equity
Financial statements
| Line item | Sep 2023 | Dec 2023 | Mar 2024 | Jun 2024 | Sep 2024 | Dec 2024 | Mar 2025 | Jun 2025 | Sep 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales | 10,567 | 11,366 | 11,686 | 10,418 | 10,786 | 10,703 | 11,664 | 11,719 | 13,450 | 12,069 | 12,544 | 11,900 |
| Expenses | 10,813 | 10,500 | 11,252 | 10,148 | 10,646 | 10,605 | 11,239 | 11,530 | 13,524 | 11,863 | 12,525 | 12,105 |
| Operating Profit | -246 | 866 | 434 | 270 | 140 | 98 | 426 | 189 | -74 | 206 | 19 | -205 |
| OPM % | -2.3% | 8% | 3.7% | 2.6% | 1.3% | 0.9% | 3.6% | 1.6% | -0.6% | 1.7% | 0.1% | -1.7% |
| Other Income | 4 | 0 | 36 | 2 | 1 | 9 | 77 | 202 | 98 | 166 | 427 | 27 |
| Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Depreciation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Profit before tax | -242 | 866 | 470 | 272 | 141 | 107 | 502 | 391 | 23 | 372 | 446 | -179 |
| Tax % | -19% | 18% | 34% | 14% | 48% | -221% | 36% | 0% | 14% | -1% | -26% | 37% |
| Net Profit | -175 | 722 | 313 | 243 | 91 | 349 | 356 | 402 | 55 | 380 | 580 | -239 |
| EPS in Rs | ₹-1.07 | ₹4.38 | ₹1.89 | ₹1.45 | ₹0.54 | ₹2.12 | ₹2.18 | ₹2.43 | ₹0.33 | ₹2.31 | ₹3.51 | ₹-1.47 |
From company filings, updated 11 Sept 2026. Consolidated figures where the company reports them.Information only, not investment advice.
Strengths, risks & growth
New India Assurance Company Ltd is India's largest non-life insurance company. It is promoted by the Government of India (GoI) holding ~86% stake. It was established by Sir Dorabji Tata in 1919 and was nationalised in 1973. Post nationalisation, it became one of 4 subsidiaries of General Insurance Company of India (GIC) but gained autonomy after GIC became a re-insurance company in 1999. [1]
Strengths
- Company is almost debt free.
- Stock is trading at 1.15 times its book value
- Company has been maintaining a healthy dividend payout of 25.5%
Risks
- The company has delivered a poor sales growth of 8.52% over past five years.
- Tax rate seems low
- Company has a low return on equity of 4.24% over last 3 years.
- Earnings include an other income of Rs.717 Cr.
Compounded Sales Growth
- 10 Years
- +13%
- 5 Years
- +9%
- 3 Years
- +7%
- TTM
- +11%
Compounded Profit Growth
- 10 Years
- +21%
- 5 Years
- -3%
- 3 Years
- +99%
- TTM
- -36%
Stock Price CAGR
- 10 Years
- —
- 5 Years
- +4%
- 3 Years
- +17%
- 1 Year
- +3%
Return on Equity
- 10 Years
- +3%
- 5 Years
- +3%
- 3 Years
- +4%
- Last Year
- +5%
Strengths and risks are a machine-generated checklist, not advice; growth is compounded annually over each period.
Shareholding pattern
| Holder | Sept 2025 | Dec 2025 | Mar 2026 | Jun 2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promoter | 85.44% | 85.44% | 85.44% | 85.44% | 0.00 pp |
| FII | 1.01% | 1.00% | 1.01% | 1.02% | +0.01 pp |
| DII | 11.18% | 11.15% | 11.17% | 11.17% | 0.00 pp |
| Public | 2.37% | 2.40% | 2.39% | 2.36% | -0.03 pp |
Filed with NSE for Jun 2026: promoters 85.44%, public 14.56% · XBRL filing
Analysts & fund holdings
Who holds the shares, quarter by quarter
Mutual funds 0.10% (0.00 pp)- Promoters85.4%
- Foreign institutions1.0%
- Mutual funds0.1%
- Insurance10.8%
- Other domestic institutions0.3%
- Retail1.8%
- Others0.6%
| Fund | % of company | % of fund | 3-month change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Motilal Oswal BSE Enhanced Value Index Fund | 0.02% | 0.32% | +0.03 pp |
| Motilal Oswal Nifty Midcap 150 Index Fund | 0.01% | 0.10% | +0.00 pp |
| Nippon India Nifty Midcap 150 Index Fund | 0.01% | 0.11% | +0.00 pp |
| ICICI Pru Nifty Midcap 150 Index Fund | 0.01% | 0.11% | +0.00 pp |
| SBI Nifty Midcap 150 Index Fund | 0.01% | 0.11% | +0.00 pp |
Scorecard
- Performance
- Low
- Valuation
- High
- Growth
- Low
- Profitability
- Avg
- Entry point
- Avg
- Red flags
- Low
Analyst coverage, holdings and scorecard from market data; not a recommendation by Parasram India.
Corporate actions
- dividend₹1.50
Dividend - Rs 1.50 Per Share
10 Jul 2026ex-date - dividend₹1.80
Dividend - Rs 1.80 Per Share
4 Sept 2025ex-date - dividend₹2.06
Dividend - Rs 2.06 Per Share
6 Sept 2024ex-date - dividend₹1.93
Dividend - Rs 1.93 Per Share
8 Sept 2023ex-date - dividend₹0.30
Dividend - Rs 0.30 Per Share
25 Aug 2022ex-date - dividend₹1.50
Dividend - Rs 1.50 Per Share
18 Jul 2019ex-date - otherNot available — not reported in this filing
Annual General Meeting
19 Jul 2018ex-date - dividend₹5.00
Bonus 1:1/ Dividend- Rs 5 Per Share
27 Jun 2018ex-date - bonusNot available — not reported in this filing
Bonus 1:1/ Dividend- Rs 5 Per Share
27 Jun 2018ex-date - dividend₹3.75
Interim Dividend - Rs 3.75 Per Share
29 Nov 2017ex-date
Company announcements
Pursuant to Regulation 30 of SEBI, LODR we wish to inform you that the Ministry of Finance has assigned additional charge to Mr. S Sivasankar, Executive Director for the position of CMD ....
PFA the letter wrt captioned subject
PFA the letter wrt the captioned subject
PFA the letter wrt to captioned subject
PFA the letter wrt captioned subject
The Exchange has sought clarification from The New India Assurance Company Ltd on August 06, 2026, with reference to Movement in Volume. <BR><BR>The reply is awaited.
PFA the letter wrt the captioned subject
PFA the letter wrt the captioned subject
Filed with BSE (scrip 540769); the last 45 days. Documents open at bseindia.com.
Documents
Annual reports
Earnings calls
Credit ratings
- Rating update · 16 Apr from crisil
- Rating update · 17 Apr 2025 from crisil
- Rating update · 19 Apr 2024 from crisil
- Rating update · 26 Apr 2023 from crisil
- Rating update · 12 Dec 2022 from crisil
- Rating update · 28 Apr 2022 from crisil
Documents open at BSE or the rating agency that issued them.